Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Centovigne "Della Motta" Rosso
Review Date: 01-17-2020
This rosso is made up of 100% Nebbiolo!!! I opened this one on Sunday night and immediately poured it into a decanter and let it open for an hour. There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality, and a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish. Two thumbs up !
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-14-2020
So many Brunellis and so little time. This wine is from this extraordinary portion of Montalcino's most famous single vineyard, "Montosoli," and is full of black cherry, cinnamon, cardamom, and leather; spicy, gamey, full of what I call sweet earth, (that Montalcino, dusty minerality) it's a more rustic wine. I would give this a couple hours of breathing time and drink this over the next couple of years. Truly one of the Best Brunelli's I have had in years.

2015 Pasetti Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 01-11-2020
There is nothing musty or old fashioned about this straight forward red, with fresh "modern" styling in its rich dark fruit and sweet tannins. Made entirely of the Montepulciano grape from the region of Abruzzo, this will work well with a pizza/pasta or just a Great wine to serve to the "Family" on Sunday night.Plays well with food - especially tricky tomato sauce. Nice lift and acidity, but with the ripe fruit flavors of Abruzzo - which is located on the "calf" of the boot of Italy.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 01-11-2020
A few of these will go down in my cellar next to their older siblings (the 2001’s) and will try to forget that they are there. Gioberto Zannoni and his son Angelo have hit another one out of the ballpark This is a classic 2013 Brunello, needs a couple of hours to open up.

2018 Domaine Gerard Tremblay Petit Chablis
Review Date: 01-11-2020
This is solid chablis, with that thread of minerality that tells you it could only be from Chablis. It has a long finish, and is most refreshing, if you are looking for an alternative to oaky chardonnay. Thanks to our direct import, we have a great price on this wine!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Castello di Verduno "Basadone" Pelaverga
Review Date: 01-10-2020
I first tried this grape varietal with the 2008 vintage, when I met Mario Andrion (Oenologist) and I soon planed a trip to visit the winery in May of 2010 (www.castellodiverduno.it) they have a great hotel ! Pelaverga has a DOC, in the region of Piedmont in Italy. The small zone has a vineyard area of only eight hectares, and includes the commune of Verduno, from which the name is taken, as well as parts of the communes of La Morra and Roddi d´Alba in the province of Cuneo. It’s an amazing medium-bodied red, intense fragrant nose, showing spicy overtones with lots of black pepper and nutmeg, as well as fruity sensations reminiscent of cherries and strawberries. Truly a taste sensation, you must try.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2017 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 12-20-2019
Cherry, plum, and spice flavors are sweet and ripe, while fresh acidity and moderate tannins provide structure. Displays fine balance and length. This fragrant, beautiful wine spent eight months in neutral oak casks, which has resulted in an intense, balanced red, very much a baby Brunello, and very much deserving of your finest pork and veal dishes.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2018 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 12-20-2019
By: Mike Parres | K&L Staff Member | Review Date: 7/24/2018 | Send Email Chianti Colli Senesi is perhaps Chianti's most unsung subzone, located on the hills surrounding Siena and I love what his area can do to Sangiovese. This Poggio Salvi is just bang for your buck, medium- bodied, dark fruit and a little bit of Siena on the palate. Buy a couple for you next Pizza or Pasta night!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Blason Ribolla Gialla Spumante 1.5L
Review Date: 12-10-2019
Ribolla Gialla enjoys a long history as one of Friuli's oldest indigenous vines. This extremely unusual wine would be worth buying solely on account of its very low price, but once you have tried this unusual grape and varietal wine, you'll be back for more. The Ribolla Gialla Sparling is truly amazing. The palate is intense and full with a supple body, echoing the wine's varietal character; exotic and honeyed bliss, floral notes, hints of flint and citrus, delivering several complex layers that transform as they evolve in the glass. The finish is dry with lots of acidity and pleasantly fresh. A great party-pleaser for all guests — and only 11.5%.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta di Sesta Poggio d'Arna
Review Date: 12-07-2019
“SUPER TUSCAN”! & SUPER PRICE! This bad boy is made up of a blend of 40% Sangiovese, 30% Cabernet Franc, and 30% Merlot. And I swear you taste the layers of all these, and on the palate you will find flavors of black cherry and plum, and soft floral notes blend with silky tannins. The Cab gives this a backbone that you feel, and a nice, smooth, and long finish. TWO THUMBS UP!!!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Agostino Pavia Grignolino d'Asti
Review Date: 11-26-2019
Grignolino is a very distinctive grape variety native to Piedmont. It combines pale, Pinot-like color with mouth-filling grip (some tannins). I think of this varietal wine as a dark rosé and I utilize it as one. Cranberry fruit flavors, herbal and rhubarb notes with great acidity. It is one of the classic matches with salumi, and it also complements a broad range of rich or flavorful summertime foods. I take this out of the refrigerator about a half an hour before serving, this really brings out the fruit. The perfect light red!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Revello Barolo
Review Date: 11-12-2019
From the great 2015 vintage, this wine brings it with aromas of dried cherry and roses. On the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle and a little Piedmont dust, with a soft tannin structure. I love the elegance and varietal purity of this Barolo. I will put some of these down as well, to drink sooner than later. I recommended decanting it for a couple hours and think it would show best with mushroom risotto or a tri-tip.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 La Fortuna "Fortunello" Rosso di Toscano
Review Date: 11-12-2019
Here is a wine that earned lots of stars from me. This is 100% Sangiovese and spent a few months in oak. The nose is classic, ripe cherries and strawberries with a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this full-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, plus a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredibly long finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Peter Zemmer Pinot Bianco Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Shows sliced apple aromas, turning to flowers. Full-bodied, with mineral and honey character, fresh acidity and a bright finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peter Zemmer "Giatl" Pinot Grigio Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-30-2019
The 2016 Pinot Grigio has really nice concentration, ripe apple, and peach stones, with hints of lemon peel and wet stone and can feel the barrel ageing on this wine. Full-bodied, with a good grip and a long, memorable finish, great for just sipping on in the evening or would love something with a lot of spice or just a long straw.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peter Zemmer "Crivelli" Chardonnay Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Currently one of the best white wines of Italy, this offers complex aromas of cream, toasted oak, and is full-bodied, very rich, with loads of fruit enhanced by hints of wood and lots of minerality. Incredible length on the finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Peter Zemmer "Caprile" Muller Thurgau Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-30-2019
The first thing that hits your tongue is citrus and lots of lime zest, then the mineratily, balanced with a fare amount of acidity and very long finish. This is exactly what you want on a fall evening, this wine is at its best when served with the antipasti, stuffed peppers or fettuccini alfredo!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peter Zemmer "Furggl" Lagrein Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Fairly dark red-purple in color with aromas and flavors of blackberries, black plums and tea leaf. It is full-bodied and savory on the palate, almost Cote-Rotie like. I drink this wine with grilled meats, stews, sausages....very versatile. Great value.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$23.99

2018 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Made from grapes known also as Frappato di Vittoria, this wine is fragrant, fresh and bursting out, intense notes of cherries, blackberry and raspberry. The palate impression is bright and fresh, light but persistent; with small black and red fruits coating the mouth. Wonderful with all cheeses, it is equally at home when served with fish. Give a slight chill.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2017 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Woo-hoo! Baricci’s is back in town! Ever time I raise a glass of this wine to my lips; it brings me back to Montaclino. Why? because there is so much Montaclino in the glass. This Rosso reveals perfumed ripe fruit of plum, cassis and kirsch, some leather and cassis, mid- pallet and earthiness that meld into ripe strawberries, spices and minerals on the long finish. ( Warning !!! this will sell out quickly and yes, I am going to put some down).
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 10-16-2019
From the southern French region of the Languedoc comes this beautiful example of Cement de Limoux, very characteristic of the variety, with perfume of white flower, citrus, lemon soda and drying mineral tones. The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Barale Barolo
Review Date: 10-16-2019
This 2015 Barolo is gorgeous. From the translucent color, to the fresh, floral bouquet and bright red fruits, this entry-level bottling screams of Nebbiolo. What a beautiful wine! Sweet roses, berries and spices emerge in the glass adding further complexity. There is a tension between the ripeness of the vintage and the wine’s firm sense of structure that is utterly captivating.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 10-16-2019
This slightly untraditional blend of negroamaro, primitivo and cabernet sauvignon will make you wonder why more Southern Italian winemakers are not convinced of cabernet's place among more native varietals. This value-packed red offers layers of raspberry, plum and black cherry fruits on the nose and palate, with light, spicy notes of licorice and a long finish for such an inexpensive wine. Ideal with pasta or the Pizza!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Fortuna "Magnus" Sant'Antimo Rosso
Review Date: 10-16-2019
This Rosso reveals a gorgeous core of perfumed ripe fruit, plum, cassis and kirsch, some leather and cola mid- pallet and earthiness that meld into bitter coco powder, spices and minerals on the finish. Lush, ripe and flows across your palate, Wow, that’s a lot of wine for under Twenty bucks!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2018 La Fortuna "Magnus" Sant'Antimo Bianco
Review Date: 09-25-2019
Sant'Antimo the new Condrieu? Viognier from Tuscany? Well if anyone can pull it off, it's our friends Gioberto and his son Angelo at La Fortuna. The aromatics are like something from a flower market. On the palate I get white peaches and apricot pit, with subtle tropical flavors, zippy acidity with a touch of wood that adds to the complexity of this wine, incredible length and a dry finish that lingers on and on. Here is a wine made for brunch or something very spicy. ​
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$15.99

2018 Silvano Follador Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 09-24-2019
It's back!!! This is a perfect wine for this time of year. This Prosecco has been one of K&L’s best sellers since we started bringing it in many years ago. There is melon and green apple, and it is crisp and floral on the palate. A long finish and a subtle mousse make this delicious wine a sure bet for your table. This wine will work well as an alternative to Champagne. These are GREAT holiday bubbles--stock up on the Silvano, it always sells out quickly.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2018 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 09-11-2019
Another very tasty offering from Puelles. This light white has a lovely citrus nose with hints of vanilla and fruit. The taste is well balanced with an almost tropical offering and just the right amount of acid. Very easy drinking.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2018 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
Review Date: 08-14-2019
From Rocca di Montegrossi and simply put, their best effort yet! This robust rosato has a light salmon pink color and fascinating aromas of ripe wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Chateau de la Maltroye Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-13-2019
A super value Bourgogne Blanc that expresses its uniqueness. This wine is elegant, crisp and well-structured. The 2017 is almost like a Great Chablis and shows chalky with a mineral quality. The wine is mouth-filling and full, with a smooth and supple finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-31-2019
This Pinot Noir is a ROCKIN' wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers, and acidity all come together in this harmonious wine. It captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and richer styles of Pinot being made in Willamette Valley. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy, and balance, this will blow you away!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

MySpritz Aperitivo Ready to Drink
Review Date: 07-31-2019
If you ever been to Europe and had a pre-dinner cocktail called a spritz, we have it here already to go. Pour, add ice and an orange slice and you are done. This is a great holiday party sipper, only eight percent alcohol, so you can have a nice big glass. Buy a few, this bottle empties quickly.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rocca di Montegrossi "Geremia" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Geremia is 60% Merlot and 40% Cabernet Sauvignon that spent 24 months in French oak. Lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals, and toasty oak that complete each other on the nose and palate, and the wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together.

2016 Zaccagnini "Tralcetto" Montepulciano d' Abruzzo Riserva
Review Date: 07-31-2019
I recently showed this for a small consumer tasting and sold four cases in just less than 3 hours and these were people buying quantities of this wine. (Have to do this one more time. Montepulciano the grape has nothing to do with Montepulciano- the Tuscan town.) I gave it two stars**. There are aromas of blackberries, and floral notes; on the palate you will find smoke, wild cherries and minerals, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here, not to mention terrific overall balance.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Saracco Moscato d'Asti
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Mr. Saracco is the toast of the US rappers who sip his Moscato d’Asti at parties and name-check it in their lyrics. Indeed, hip hoppers’ vocal endorsement is credited as being one of the reasons why producers are popping their corks at the growing popularity of this sparkling wine. Since Kanye West’s mention of Moscato d’Asti in the song “Make Her Feel Good” sales have been spiralling upwards. Moscato d’Asti is, like Champagne, from a controlled appellation of origin. Made from Muscat Blanc grapes grown exclusively in Asti, Alessandria and Cuneo, it proudly traces its heritage back to Roman times when it was called Moscatellum. The alcohol content remains low, typically at 6% ABV. This is a great wine to serve for all your spring parties.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
You will find a little bit of Tuscany in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some soft tannin on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential over the next few years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.

2017 Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana, this is one of my favorite producers from Tuscany ( With the Guido, it has to be Bene’ ). This is their "Super Tuscan" - a very user friendly wine, the blend is made with 60% Cabernet Sauvignon and 40% Merlot, and lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals that complete each other on the nose and palate. The wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all togethe

2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
From one of our all-time-favorite Brunello producers. This wine could easily compete with wines twice the price. Drinkable now, utterly delicious in fact, but could age beautifully if you wanted to lay a couple bottles down. Highly recommended. Two thumbs up from Guido
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2018 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Great aromatics on this rich, yet dry and quaffable wine. Perfect for vegetable dishes, lighter fish dishes, or spicy asian cuisine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Maritma "The 4 Old Guys" Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
This is one of those great wines that year after year just keeps producing value and performance in every bottle. I just poured this at a staff tasting to remind my colleges what a super value this is. Sometimes “The 4 Old Guys” gets looked over because it’s been stocked at K&L for many vintages. This 2018 is one of their best to date. I recently took this home and was amazed. On the palate you will find black cherries with a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is medium bodied with fine concentration and soft tannins. I give this two thumbs up. This is a perfect value wine to serve with burgers or grilled Portobello, all summer long.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cantina Terlan "Porphyr" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 07-23-2019
This Lagrein is made in the Alto Adige. This wine has an elegant perfume, subtle even, with fruit, vanilla and violet notes. On the palate it is a touch austere and quite full bodied, just the thing to match the rustic, rich foods of the mountainous region like lamb with rosemary and hard cheeses.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2018 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Review Date: 07-19-2019
This is Cortese (the region is Gavi in Piedmont) it has very delicate perfumes of apples and apricots. It is un-oaked and crisp, with citrus and peach fruit and notes of herbs and is wonderfully delicate but with great structure, love its length & balance as well as its complexity.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 05-29-2019
Medium-bodied, it is characterized by fruity notes (cherry and raspberry) and hints of spices and herbs,sort of like a cross between Beaujolais and Bourgeuil. It is mouthwatering and savory. I like to give this a slight chill and pair it with grilled poultry or just sip it on the porch with some salami and salty cheese.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-13-2019
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus. There are ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and it is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate. Great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-13-2019
This is our ninetieth anniversary of bringing Ermacora to you and in 1998 our price on the P/G was $11.99! We love beating that Euro down! and one of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cantina Andrian Trentino-Alto Adige Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 03-20-2019
This outstanding Pinot Grigio offers aromas of ripe honeydew melon with a soft and full palate. An ideal white to have by itself as a very classy aperitif.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 San Michele Appiano Sanct Valentin Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-19-2019
This is truly an amazing Pinot. As you open this little treasure, pleasant aromas of wild strawberry, fresh leather and cedar fill the air. Medium to full-bodied. Richly textured berries and game mingle with a long, spicy, soft oak finish with fine tannins and a twist of vanilla on the finish. There is also some of that Alto Adige chalk and porphyry that give this lots of minerals and acidity for balance. This is a wine that will definitely stand up to something very rich on the plate; duck, or I will probably open mine and have with a leg of lamb.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-09-2019
There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, lots of minerality and a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Tempranillo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish. ROCKIN' 2010!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Italian bubbles for Eleven bucks, what did we just step back in time? Nope just another Great bargain wine from K & L! This is the perfect wine for all your holiday parties, for there is nothing better than Prosecco, for crowd pleasing and value. This has a light straw yellow hue and has a fine mousse and delicate, with a long-lasting bead. On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of pear and nectarines. The palate has wonderful balance and elegance, dry & crisp, but admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose. The perfect party wine all year long. Don't forget to grab a bottle of Aperol Aperitivo for your Spritz's.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-08-2018
This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions. A must have for the end of summer and fall seasons, for yourself and if guests drop by. On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of apples, peaches and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance complement a pleasurably spiciness. The Palate is velvety, crisp, and fruity, admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
This Pinot Nero, (Pinot Noir) is a lovely wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers and spices all come together in this harmonious wine. Torti’s Pinot captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and terrior driven styles of Pinot being made in Alto Adige. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy and balance, this will blow you away! Melt some strong cheese, dip some bread and veggies in there, and enjoy with a glass (or a bottle) Great wine for all your late summer Bar-B-Ques.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next