Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Steve Greer

Steve Greer
Steve Greer  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I think I started down the path into the wine world with my first job, at 16, bussing tables in a Chinese restaurant. Blue Nun Riesling was the big seller (this in 1985, so don't laugh). While the Blue Nun Riesling was not an "epiphany" wine, I drank a lot of it. It was a magnum of Robert Sinskey Claret that I shared with friends while watching the 1994 World Cup that got me started reading about wine (Brazil won). My first "wow" wine was that same year, when a customer gave me a glass of 1982 Haut Brion. It was amazing. Next I found pinot noir, specifically a 1994 Whitcraft Bien Nacido, and I was hooked. I knew I wanted to sell wine so I moved from restaurants to wholesale wine sales, working for Metamora in Ohio and Kentucky. But after continued consolidation of distributors and the realization, that in wholesale you wear blinders, tasting only the wines you sell, I knew I wanted to move to the retail side. I would like to say I moved from Cincinnati just for K&L but I left the "Red" state for Los Angeles (a Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals fan in San Francisco just would not do) and I was very lucky to find the K&L store in Hollywood. The rest is history.


Reviews

Banks 5 Island White Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-24-2014
I love this rum..... this is a great mixing rum with both sweet cane flavors and a bit of pot-still funk giving this a lot more layers than most inexpensive white mixing rums.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Talisker 10 Year Old Isle of Skye Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-24-2014
I am guilty of chasing the golden goose and forgetting about the standards or classics within a certain category be it wine, whiskey, beer etc. I was reminded of this when we went through a line-up of Scotch whiskey and I tried the Talisker 10. This is the balanced side of peated whiskey with pure sea-side air, creosote and just a hint of iodine balanced by the sweet malt. The finish is beautiful with saline and spice and only $50! A standard for everyone's bar.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
This is a wonderful addition to any bar and a perfect addition for Manhattans. Rosemary, thyme and jasmine with an oily texture a touch of sweetness and a mint finish.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

Cherry Heering Liqueur 48 Proof (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
The bottle itself looks like something that has been sitting on a back bar of a restaurant for 10 years... untouched! But it is easy to fall in love with this drink that has been produced since 1818. Dr. Pepper, ginger, Xmas cake spice and cherry pie! The most well known drink is Singapore Slings.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ferrand Dry Orange Curaçao (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
This is a drier version of Grand Mariner. Tastes like orange marmalade and fresh oranges with dry finish. Excellent!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
The Forteleza line-up is fantastic but the Bianco shows the purity of the spirit with tons of depth. Vegetative, roasted herbs, spice, orange peel and coriander shows this is a sipper to be enjoy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart


2010 Smith-Haut-Lafitte, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-04-2013
Oak spice, extracted blue fruit, modern.

2009 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-01-2012
The nose is filled with perfume, floral notes, incense and cassis. The layered palate is rich cassis, spice, cedar and mineral. The richness of the wine keeps the tannins in check while the acidity brightens the wine on the finish. This wine is stunning!

La Petite Marquise Crémant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 07-19-2011
I think this is turning out to be the company's favorite under $15 sparkling. It is finally back. There is a great balance between mineral, citrus, fruit with a nice mouth-feel.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-05-2011
Fantastic. This vintage is the first year they are certified biodynamic. They also are using a horse to farm about 60 acres, and Alfred Tesseron wants to add one horse a year. This attention to detail in the vineyard is paying off in the finished wine. Very expressive on the nose, it has lovely floral qualities, blackberry and spice. There’s pure black fruit on the palate finishing with some astringency, but the fresh fruit balances the tannins. Buy this as soon as you can!

Launois "Cuvée Réservée" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2011
Every year this is one of my favorite Champagnes. Green apple and mineral on the nose and palate and the 3 years on the lees provides a fantastic mouth feel with plenty of acidity keeping it very crisp and clean. 100% Grand Cru fruit for only $34.99. Crazy.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2011
This is our best value Champagne in the store. Comprised of all three grapes this Champagne shows you can have both good value and great taste. Nutty, brioche and apple fill the nose and palate with a mouth filling mousse. Only $24.99 and I promise everyone you poured this for would enjoy it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Mission Haut-Brion Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-13-2011
Floral, with concentrated spice and black-red fruits.

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-27-2010
This could be one of the best deals in our Champagne section. If you like Billecart then you will like this as a alternative in price. Nice strawberry and cherry flavors and aromas with a nice rich texture and a long finish of strawberry. Great value and a great Champagne.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux (3L)
Review Date: 07-30-2010
This wine was the tightest of the ’07s despite being decanted two hours before the tasting. Dark berry and currant fruit dominated the nose, with cedar hiding behind. The mouthfeel was a bit astringent, with slightly gritty tannins, but there was plenty of dark fruit, cedar and oak spice. The finish was long, with spice notes dominating and black fruit taking a backseat. There is a lot to this wine, it is just needs more time in the cellar.
Price: $279.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Réserve" Grand Cru Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 07-13-2009
What a beautiful Champagne. The elegant texture with great depth of flavor is what stood out for me. Loads of nuts and fruits (apricots) all wrapped by a great mouthfeel and a toasty finish. This has become my favorite under $30 Champagne.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

More Favorites

Steve Greer is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Steve Greer, click here to join Steve Greer's Personal Sommelier Service.
Tempus Fugit Kina L'Aero D'Or Vin Aperitif Du Quinquina Aperitif Wine (750ml) ($32.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Añejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila (750ml) ($39.99)

St. George "Terroir" Mt. Tam Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

Citadelle French Gin (750ml) ($19.99)

Domaine du Manoir de Montreuil Calvados Pay d'Auge (750ml) ($44.99)

Averna Amaro Siciliano (750ml) ($29.99)

Adrien Camut Réserve de Semainville "Assemblage de 25 ans" Pays d'Auge Calvados (750ml) ($299.99)

El Dorado 15 Year Old Demerara Guyana Rum (750ml) ($57.99)

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne ($32.99)

Chokaisan Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml) ($49.99)

Lini "Labrusca" Lambrusco Emilia Bianco ($14.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)