Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Sharon Kelly

Sharon Kelly

Reviews

2019 de Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan Rosé
Review Date: 08-03-2020
I am more excited about rose when it is from a region that is off the radar, and not typical Provencal or Loire. How often do you find rose from Bordeaux? This is Cabernet Sauvignon from one of the finest producers in the Pessac-Leognan region of Graves and it is fabulous. It has what I call stuffing - dry with plenty of bold fruit, structure and a gentle presence of tannins, all of which make it stand up to meat, foie gras, and scallops. This is serious style of rose, one to consider your new "vin gastronomique". This is not made every vintage so get some while you can.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2019 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rosé
Review Date: 08-01-2020
New vintage, same great rose. For the most part, 2019 was very sunny and dry, except for late August when the region was hit with frost. As a result. yields were low but the quality of the carefully sorted fruit remained high. I love this rose every year for its succulence and vibrancy. The color is a darker pink hue and no, it's not sweet. It is dry and it has a personality that leaves a lasting impression - like that stranger that shows up to the party alone and the next thing you know they have the whole room captivated by their wit and charm.Yes way, Gamay.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2018 Charlène et Laurent Pinson Petit Chablis
Review Date: 07-18-2020
Poor Petit Chablis. Always stuck at the kids table. I recently shared this with a scoffer of Petit Chablis and wouldn't you know? This one earned its seat with the grown ups. Finally! Are all of them this fabulous? No. But my point was made. There are some good ones that can surprise you and this is exactly the one. Charlene and Laurent Pinson have crafted a delicious and succulent bottle of unoaked Chardonnay that is full of juicy citrus and green apple fruits while still possessing that steely, saline, mineral-driven freshness that makes Chablis so perfect for these hot summer days. I had a hard time sharing this one. I'll have to hoard a secret stash.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Cantine Federiciane "Gragnano" Penisola Sorrentina
Review Date: 07-13-2020
Reach for this fun and frothy wine if you need a versatile, chillable red to pair with your summer meal. A great alternative to Lambrusco, this is a beautiful dark purple, chock full of blackberry and cranberry notes and finishes dry on the palate. This gets bonus points for it's low ABV - I didn't feel buzzed whatsoever after drinking almost the whole bottle.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Thierry et Pascale Matrot St-Romain Blanc
Review Date: 07-06-2020
Saint Romain is located above and behind Auxey-Duresses in the Cote de Beaune, the vineyards are higher altitude and overlook the landscape of the surrounding area.This off the beaten path region produces white wines of fresh quaffability, perfect for youthful drinking. This is lean and focused, with plenty of lemon and crisp green apple qualities - an excellent choice for lovers of the mineral side of Chardonnay. Normal retail price is $30 but we've managed to secure a great deal which means it's yours for $19.99. Enjoy with mussels, fish, vegetables with pasta, or a simple cheese plate with a side of fresh bread and creamy, salty french butter.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Vignerons des Terres Secretes Macon Milly-Lamartine Blanc
Review Date: 07-06-2020
Quite possibly the best white wine value in the store. If you had the last vintage, which was damn delicious, 2018 is even better. Chardonnay from the Maconnais region in southern Burgundy consistently delivers in terms of flavor, quality, and of course, price point. This classic, everyday, bistro-style wine is all sun-kissed apples, lemons and white flowers. I'm buying a case. You should too.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 07-06-2020
Drinking this quintessential summer thirst quencher is like licking salty ocean rock and sucking on meyer lemons - a welcoming swift kick to your palate. Mineral-driven and citrus focused, this is the invigorating freshness we all need as the weather heats up. Pop a bottle of this into your beach bag and, when you reach your destination (which these days is the backyard patio), pour a glass, close your eyes and imagine yourself sipping this seaside. With this great bottle of wine and a vivid imagination you can travel anywhere you want.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fratelli Barale "Castlé" Barbera d'Alba Superiore
Review Date: 06-28-2020
When I need a versatile wine that will pair with a wide variety of foods I often reach for Gamay, but recently opted for this Barbera d'Alba to try something new. Does it taste like Gamay? No. But I discovered it shares similar characteristics to my usual French go-to. The low tannins, high acidity and bright red cherry fruit make this an approachable and easy to enjoy wine with practically anything. Try with a bowl of potato chips, pulled pork or mushroom stroganoff. And yes, pizza and pasta too.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2019 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rosé
Review Date: 06-28-2020
New vintage! This rose is so damn good. Too good - I can easily consume the entire bottle myself. It's succulent and salty, oozing with fresh red berries and the ever-important super energetic acidity. This is dry and delicious and I just can't get enough. If there's one french rose to stock up on this year it's this one.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2019 Domaine les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil Rosé
Review Date: 06-25-2020
As soon as rosé season begins, I seek the one that stands out from the crowd, and this year it is this must-have Cabernet Franc from the Loire Valley. The red berry fruit and hints of wild herbs combined with delectable complexity and texture make this a stunning rosé gastronomique that pairs with practically any dish: chicken, fish, steak, lots of cheese, salad, anything. Or, if you're not hungry, that's OK. This is wonderful on its own, too.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Leyda "Classic" Leyda Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-24-2020
In the mood for something different the other night, I picked up this Chilean Pinot Noir, where vineyards grow in a cool, coastal area of Chile, not far from the Pacific Ocean. Pronounced herbal notes and plenty of cheerful cherry fruit teamed up with bright acid announced themselves like a loud hello when I first opened up the bottle, but collected composure after some time in my glass. A great bottle to enjoy with dinner or a simple hunk of oozy cheese, as I did. There was about a glass and a half left in the bottle by the end of the night and I thought this was even better after 24 hours. Great stamina at under $20.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine Pinson Chablis 1er Cru "Mont de Milieu"
Review Date: 05-26-2020
Vignerons in Chablis are calling 2018 "the best vintage in 20 years." Mont de Milieu sits immediately south of Grand Cru Montee de Tonnerres. The sun exposure here fully ripens the grapes, resulting in a more textured expression, with juicy plump fruit while that classic Chablis tension remains. Lemon, green apple, and the flinty profile of the prized Kimmeridgian soils are pronounced here. Nervy acidity zips across the tongue and the finish is endless. The best vintage in 20 years? Absolument.

2018 Domaine Pinson Chablis 1er Cru "Montmains"
Review Date: 05-24-2020
Premier Cru Montmains does not have the sun exposure Mont de Milieu does but the fruit is still wonderfully expressive albeit a touch austere. Bright notes of lemon rind, white nectarine, and crushed shells give this wine its beautiful aromatic qualities, invigorating acidity awakens the palate and the saline finish lingers on and on. This is a precise and pristine first-class Chablis.

2018 Vigneti Massa "Sentieri" Barbera
Review Date: 05-23-2020
California Cab and Zinfandel seem to grace many picnic tables where BBQ is involved but you should instead consider is this delectable Barbera for a change. This is quite a match for the saucy goodness of BBQ courtesy of the fresh cherry and raspberry fruit. Plus, it's medium bodied and packs a good punch but the acidity offsets the louder parts of its personality. The result is a wine that is damn good with tender pork ribs, a juicy burger or grilled Kielbasa. If BBQ is not your thing, anything pasta is a guaranteed win. Either way, you'll be hooked by the interplay of flavors and textures in your mouth if this is part of your meal.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Seavey "Caravina" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-17-2020
I've been putting more thought into my dinner planning as of late and the wine I choose to drink must match the effort I'm putting into my cooking. The Seavey "Caravina" is just that wine. Such gorgeous ripe fruit, a touch of graphite, elegant structure, superb balance and complexity. This kept evolving in my glass, my nose lingering longer in the glass before each sip. And if that wasn't enough, it's worth more than what we are offering it for at this special pricing. Score! Don't wait. This a prime wine for that prime ribeye steak that this was made for.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 San Francesco "Tramonti Bianco" Costa d'Amalfi
Review Date: 05-09-2020
I have been drinking my fair share of Italian white wines lately and this one is a standout. As soon as I breathed in the aromas, I was instantly in Italy. The vivid smell of sea-splashed rocks and invigorating lemon and burst of salinity in my mouth had me hooked! The finish on this complex stunner is quite persistent too. This is excellent with fresh fish and oysters but I thoroughly enjoyed it with my homemade dolmas.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2018 Jean Claude Poisson Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 05-05-2020
Arriving right on time for our second SoCal heat wave is this breezy "Bourgogne de balcon" - or Balcony Burg as I like to call it. This is easy warm weather sipping all the way. Delicate fruit, a touch more texture than the previous vintage. Apples and quince dominate here and there is good acidity. There is more personality this vintage - a great wine to have on hand for early afternoon or sunset sipping.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fratelli Barale Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 05-04-2020
Barale has nailed it yet again. I love this wine for its freshness and drinkability. Cherries, raspberries, savory herb, a touch of tobacco and high acid make this delicious number an optimal match with tomato-based dishes. I enjoyed this with a Peruvian inspired chicken dinner that had a touch of spicy heat on it. It was divine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Joseph Drouhin Bourgogne Rouge "LaForêt"
Review Date: 04-27-2020
This superb under $20 Pinot from Drouhin is back and this vintage really shines. The nose explodes with ripe raspberry and red cherry aromas and it is silky smooth on the palate, chock full of cherries and spice. This is not thin nor flabby nor overdone - it has excellent balance with mouth watering acidity and plenty of flavor. I've had this with everything from pasta to chicken to a simple slice of cheese.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 03-25-2020
The Amethyst is named for the amethyst crystal that grows deep in the ground where these vines grow. This charming Gamay is so fresh and friendly, bursting with raspberries, ripe plums and a deliciously juicy finish. An excellent pairing with pizza and anything with basil.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2018 Clos de la Roilette Fleurie "Cuvée Tardive"
Review Date: 03-21-2020
This is not your typical Fleurie. The Cuvee Tardive is made with the property's oldest vines and has more structure, dark brooding fruit. savory herbs, some spice and good mineral drive. It was a bit taut at first but after a chance to unwind it was a superb compliment to my pasta that had a slight Moroccan twist to the tomato sauce. Between this and their cru village, this is the one to have if you looking to enjoy more seriously, or put away for awhile.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine Trouillet Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 03-21-2020
This is a great choice for easing fans of California Chardonnay into the wonderful world of Burgundy. A riper style with succulent apple,honey and lots of luscious texture, this is delicious, bistro-style Chardonnay.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Guy Farge "Bouquet de Syrah" Ardeche
Review Date: 03-16-2020
This is prime "Saint-Joseph-adjacent" Syrah, made with fruit from vines that grow in the same granitic soils but are just a stone's throw outside the appellation. My nose keeps returning to the glass to take in the aromas of black currant, raspberry, and cracked pepper, with traces of crushed stone that unfold with some breathing time. There is great complexity here with just the perfect amount of acidity and tannic presence. A fantastic Syrah from the Northern Rhone that will knock your socks off in flavor and value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Philippe Leclerc Bourgogne Rouge "Les Bons Batons"
Review Date: 03-10-2020
This is Philippe Leclerc's entry level wine, made with fruit from Les Bons Bâtons, a small vineyard located across the main road from Chambolle Musigny. It has all of the characteristics of classic Cotes de Nuits - delicately scented and flavored with black and red fruits, hints of black pepper, fresh wet earth and brilliant acidity that carries through to the end. This is an old-school wine of elegance rather than power - enjoy with a meal with friends.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$27.99

2017 Turtle Rock "Westberg Red" Paso Robles Zinfandel-Tempranillo
Review Date: 03-02-2020
I was introduced to Turtle Rock about five years ago and was immediately impressed by how commanding the wines were with their bold flavor profile, gorgeous mouthfeel and impeccable balance. I continue to be impressed 5 years later with the Westberg Red. A deliciously lusty blend of Zin and Tempranillo with plenty of deep chocolate, tobacco, ripe and dried fruits, this is full-bodied and so luxurious and smooth- it is screaming for a lamb burger, grilled sausage or finger-licking saucy BBQ ribs.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2018 Frederic Esmonin "La Belle Vue" Cote-de-Nuits
Review Date: 02-17-2020
We tasted this from barrel with Frederic's father, Andre, in their cellar last May and it's finally on our shelves now. I love the broody nature of Pinot Noir from the Cote de Nuits. Beautiful, dark ruby tones in the glass, the gorgeous scents of dark berries and cherries and earth, this a wine of pure Pinot fruit that is the perfect balance of concentration and freshness on the palate. Give this one some breathing room after popping the cork - it blossomed beautifully after an hour.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château de la Charrière Pommard "Les Vignots"
Review Date: 02-17-2020
This vintage is round and seductive, exuding gorgeous dark fruits, sensual damp underbrush, and spice. Pommard has more clay soils than Volnay or Beaune so the wines have more power and complexity."Muscular" is a word commonly associated with this area yet "voluptuous" is my first impression of this particular bottle. Enjoy in another 3-5 years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2018 Cellier des Dauphins "Réserve" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 02-11-2020
If you are looking for a wine with substance and flavor that will deliver much more than its price point, look no further. Made primarily of Grenache (60%) and the remainder Syrah, this is a scrumptious blend of black cherries, raspberry and blackberries but it's the abundance of garrigue and spice that draws me in. Balance is key here, with acidity, tannins, fruit vs earth notes and a lingering finish all wrapped up in a charmingly-styled bottle of deliciousness. Fill up the car! This will be gone before you know it.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2018 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-04-2020
I arrived to work early the day our domestic buyer was tasting with Jeff Stewart and they graciously gave me a taste of a few wines in the lineup. This succulent Chardonnay was the standout. I went in for a second sip and let the plush texture coat my tongue for a few extra beats. Flavors of baked apples and pears dominate here, and the oak is present, but a blast of citrus and acid give the taste buds an invigorating and swift kick. There is a lot going on in this bottle and I'm impressed with how it finishes so impeccably clean, balanced, and fresh. A heavenly wine.

2017 Cécile Chassagne Gigondas
Review Date: 01-28-2020
Cecile really knows how to express the graceful side of Gigondas. Often a full-bodied lush, spicy wine, hers is so lifted, bright and perfumed with such fresh raspberry and garrigue notes balanced with vibrant acidity. This really is a beautiful and pleasant wine.

2016 Château de Montfaucon Lirac
Review Date: 12-30-2019
This Grenache, Syrah, Cinsault blend from the Lirac appellation, located just across the river from Chateauneuf-du-Pape, is a beautifully balanced wine that exhibits ripe cherry, red currant, and raspberry fruits with specks of baking spices on the palate. It is full-bodied with a delectably long finish yet still exudes plenty of the elegance that makes Rudi de Pins wines so wonderful.

2017 Domaine Anne Parent Pommard 1er Cru "Les Chanlins"
Review Date: 11-22-2019
Les Chanlins is located on high, hillside slopes made of limestone and sits next to Volnay. The fruit in this wine is young, (17 year old vines) and it sees 50% new oak. This is an expressive and generous vintage for this 1er cru, showing plenty of bright, fresh cherry notes both in the nose and on the palate. This is not your typical "muscular" Pommard.

2017 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 11-19-2019
Jacques Bavard makes primarily white wines, so it's always such a pleasure to taste what he can do with Pinot Noir. This fabulous Bourgogne Rouge arrives just in time for Thanksgiving and the holiday entertaining season. The balance between tangy cranberry and fresh wild strawberries along with the essences of orange and cinnamon makes this a great pairing with foods like poultry, potato gratin, and roasted vegetables. Excellent harmony of fruit, acidity, and tannic structure here. Unfined, unfiltered and unbelievably satisfying.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 11-18-2019
I have loved every vintage of this wine so far and I'm so pleased the 2017 has arrived. The aromas are beautiful, bursting with fresh picked berries and flowers. If you're making an assessment on the color alone, it would be easy to assume this is very light and delicate on the palate but there is in fact a lot of fruit and flavor here; wild strawberries, red cherries, cranberry preserves, and a dusting of cinnamon. The 2016 was a bit bigger and had more concentrated fruit. The 2017, according to M. Bavard, is more classic in style.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-11-2019
Our best under $20 domestic Pinot Noir has returned with a new vintage and it's better than ever. The palate has a hint of earth and is a nice concentration of red cherries and raspberries without being heavy. The bright balancing acidity lifts everything up and assists with a deliciously persistent finish. Our best- selling and most consistent value in the store. Fossil Point FTW!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils Côtes du Rhône-Villages Plan de Dieu
Review Date: 10-21-2019
New in stock and quite possibly my new favorite Southern Rhône value. This has distinct aromas of licorice, dried plums and violets, and the palate displays raspberry compote, dried figs, baking spice and a hint of smoked meat and savory elements. Tannins are present but gentle and the length persists. There is a lot going on here for a mere $14.99! Enjoy with grilled meats while the weather is still warm, and with cozy, beef stews when the weather turns cooler.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Lucien Lardy "Les Thorins" Moulin-à-Vent
Review Date: 09-01-2019
I met Lucien for the first time in May and really enjoyed his gregarious and boisterous nature. I love his wines - they truly do reflect his personality. This Moulin-a-Vent has a big personality too, booming with ample black fruits, spice and floral undertones. There is great power and complexity in this wine...I'd love to put a few away to try in 10, and then 15 years.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2006 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-12-2019
Recently, I was wandering aimlessly up and down our store aisles, needing inspiration for my grilled rib eye dinner. I asked Jacques, our resident Bordeaux expert, what I should drink. He put this wine in my hands. I'm so glad he did. The fruit is sumptuous, showing plum, dried cherry and black currants. The mouthfeel is luscious, the tannins gentle. Classic notes of coffee, tobacco, cedar, and cassis are present here too. I savored every aroma and flavor and was sad when the decanter was empty. This is a sublime wine that has a lot of life left to give. Drink now with a good decant, or cellar for years to come.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 08-04-2019
When it comes to smooth, delicious, drinkable red wine you can always count on La Massa to please a crowd. It's consistently approachable every vintage but I feel the 2016 is the best I've tasted yet. 2015 was deeper and more ripe but in 2016 great acidic balance has returned. There's plenty of plush fruit here but it's brighter and more lifted- it sings more like a second-soprano than the baritone of 2015. La Massa for the masses!

2010 Trabucchi Amarone della Valpolicella
Review Date: 03-04-2019
This is an exceptionally intriguing example of Amarone. The nose is profoundly savory and I was immediately hooked by a distinctive scent of salted capers. While some Amarone wines can been cloying and potent this is instead a drier representation, showing ripe fruit, even a bit of brine on the palate and superbly bright acidity. It's savory and fruity so try this as a pairing with duck or game instead of beef. Favoloso!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 04-25-2018
Fun, fun, fun! Crisp, refreshing, and spritzy this is THE quintessential, eazy-breezy, zippy summer sipper. You're going to want to keep this on hand for poolside sipping, or for enjoying with salads, cheese and yes, even crab.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart