Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Thomas Smith

Thomas Smith
Thomas Smith  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Tom Smith


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Thistle Ridge Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-09-2019
Thistle Ridge is produced by Greystone--who, along with Pegasus Bay, is the most acclaimed winery in the North Canterbury region of New Zealand. The Thistle Ridge is produced from vineyards throughout this icy region, and this cool climate Pinot Noir absolutely over-delivers. On the nose, there is black cherry, blackberry preserves and a touch of cedar. Whereas on the palate this has a ton of zippy cranberry fruit. Super bright, this has that characteristic North Canterbury electric acidity with a hint of round tannin closer to the finish. And weighing in at a 12.5% Abv, this is a perfectly balanced pinot noir and a versatile pairing for a weeknight dinner.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Château Montus Madiran
Review Date: 12-05-2019
The aromas here are dark, savory, charcoal and smoke. Really compelling and full of complexity, on the palate the wine is super-concentrated. Tons of earth and minerality, that will hit every square millimeter of your palate and then drip off slowly. This is a big, bad wine. I get customers coming in all the time asking for great, under $40 earthy Bordeaux. And honestly? This will do the job so much better.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Bouscassé Madiran
Review Date: 12-05-2019
There is so much value in Madiran it's ridiculous. The Bouscasse is a little bloody on the nose, while on the palate there's earth and plum and a tannin profile builds and builds and builds--but stops just short of being too much. It walks right up to the line, maintaining plenty full body and balance while staying pleasant and bold. Totally a great buy. having had these wines going back almost a decade now, they age incredibly well. Throw 12 of these in your cellar and you'll be thrilled a few years down the line.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Vignerons de Tautavel Vingrau "Silex" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages Tautavel
Review Date: 12-05-2019
One of the more interesting Roussillons I've come across recently. Lively, spicy and exciting. The higher levels of Syrah really come through in final blend. There's plenty of tannin grip to this, but not over the top. The palate is full of bright, crisp red fruit--I have to borrow a term from Pinot Noir--but this wine is crunchy. I would drink this in a second over any of the ocean of non-descript California red blends out there. It's doing much of the same thing, but is so much more interesting, delicious and fun to drink. Dang, that's a great little wine.

2017 Jeff Carrel "Lilac" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages
Review Date: 12-05-2019
I taste a lot of wines from Roussillon here at K&L, and so, there is a bit of a built-in expectation that they are always big, slick reds that push the envelope on power. Yet, the Jeff Carrel Lilac really made me stop in my tracks. The aromas on this wine are different. Soft, gentle and really expressive. On the palate, it delivers plenty of richly layered, almost rubenesque fruit. There's no mistaking where this wine is from, but its a beautiful take on Roussillon. I love the two different sides of this wine that firmly root it in place, but also has really distinctive, compelling elements.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Fortuna "Magnus" Sant'Antimo Rosso
Review Date: 12-05-2019
I sincerely love the wines from La Fortuna. From their little Fotunello Toscano all the way up to their Riserva, they make some of the most consistently excellent wines on the Italian shelf. The Magnus was a new one for me that certainly didn't disappoint. Nice Full fruit expression with plenty of soft cherry fruit and tobacco leave. Supple and full, but still bright and racy, for any fans of La Fortuna this is a do-not-miss.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Silla Il Piaggione Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-05-2019
Dark and meaty on the nose. This is full of rich, savory elements that say"get ready and hold on tight". Bloody, gamey, touches of something almost like venison. Nice, bright attack that softens through the palate. Black pepper elements. As someone who absolutely loves wines from the Northern Rhone--this is as close as I've ever seen Chianti come to that. Just enough tannin to let you know this is legit Chianti, but doesn't go over the top--man, this wine just checks all my boxes. I would drink this in a second.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Valderiz Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 12-05-2019
Not even that close to the glass, you can tell that this is going to be dark and fruity. On the nose there are aromas of blackberry, wet slate and cherry liquor. It almost has a Priorat-does-Ribera thing going on here. But on the palate, its a different story: There's plenty of structure and grip. This wine makes total sense to me. It is a nice, clean, modern-styled Ribera del Duero that will equally satisfy newcomers to the region and veterans alike.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 12-02-2019
Australia’s Yarra Valley is one of the best places in the world to find outstanding value in Pinot Noir. This cool climate region just to the east of Melbourne is known as “Australia’s Burgundy” producing exceptional Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. Helen’s Hill is one of the producers's we have found that makes great Pinot Noir that dramatically out-performs its price. The Ingram Road Pinot Noir is a great example: bright, lifted aromas of maraschino cherries and strawberries on the nose follow through to soft, red-fruited palate that is fresh and incredibly smooth, with an acid line that strikes right down the palate. This pristine, beautiful Pinot Noir is one of those incredible $15 bottles that drinks like its $30.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Old Vine Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 11-18-2019
Awarded “Winemaker of the Year” by Wine Enthusiast in 2017, Andrea Mullineux has been crafting stunning wines since 2007. The Old Vine Chenin is bursting with lemon zest, intertwined with honeysuckle and ripe stone fruit. On the palate, it displays rich texture and powerful acidity, while still keeping a sense of elegance and complexity. This is in large part due to the fact it is produced from older vines ranging 35-40+ years old, which naturally produce grapes with lower yields and higher concentration of flavors.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 11-18-2019
The Leeuwin Art Series Chardonnay is one of the global benchmarks for top of the line Chardonnay. Year after year this is one of the best Chardonnays available anywhere, but every so often vintage conditions in Margaret River take this wine from exceptional to incredible. 2016 was absolutely one of those vintages. It balances a luxurious element of weight, detailed oak, and depth of flavor. I found notes of scorched pear, pie crust and Meyer lemon among nuances of vanilla and fresh pineapple. Its cool climate drive is apparent from the powerful, focused acidity that drives through the palate, and testifying to its quality is a long, resonating finish. It may be some time before we see another Art Series with this level of breadth, grace, and exposition of place.

2017 Oakridge "Henk Vineyard - Block 864" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 11-13-2019
Oakridge Winemaker David Bicknell is Australia's master of Pinot Noir. His local vineyard series concentrates on sourcing small parcels of fruit from exceptional family-farmed vineyards. The Oakridge 864 is sourced from a small Pinot Noir block in the Upper Yarra Valley, Australia’s most recognized site for Pinot Noir. The Henk 864 showcases Bicknell’s exceptional hand with Pinot Noir, creating a wine that bridges power and focus with intricacy and detail. Black Cherry, strawberry and cranberry compote with delicate nuances of baking spice and flowers on the nose create a profile that is full of complexity detail and death. But this merely foreplay. This leads to a palate that is a tour de force of richly layered black and red fruit. Velvety and weighted, it manages to stay bright and balanced due to a laser sharp acid line that screams down the palate. The dynamics of this wine are just nuts. This is one of Australia’s very best offerings in Pinot Noir and a testament to the world class wines being crafted by Bicknell.

2017 Oakridge "Original Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 11-06-2019
Yarra Valley Cabernet is a rare find on US shelves. In an ultra-cool pocket of Australia more known for its Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, only a handful of producers make Cabernet well, but when they do, it is absolutely stunning. Take a second and try to think of new-world, cool-climate Cabernet. There’s not many of them. Ridge and Mount Eden are the two that come to mind and equally they were the first thing I thought of when I first opened the Oakridge Cab. This is aromatic Cabernet at its best. Elements of mint, dry herbs, mocha and cherry liqueur abound on this. The palate hits you like a missile. Streamlined. Rich fruit. Smooth, softened tannin. An essence of pure Cabernet. Clean and bright, powerful and yet elegant, this is a stunning wine at its price that you absolutely can’t miss.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-06-2019
I love how classic this wine is. If you’re looking for traditional, handmade wines that absolutely and clearly speak to the place from which they are made, you can’t get any closer than Baricci. On the nose, there is depth like a 100 foot well. You can’t help but be pulled into this glass. Notes of wild, dried herbs, wet stone, and subtle fruit aromas demand attention and showcase the its complexity. The palate is powerful and concentrated, with sizzling tannin and hints of leather on the finish. It already feels well on its way, but a couple more years of age on this, and you’ll have something incredibly special. There are few wines made this honestly, and even fewer that deliver in spades like Baricci.

2016 Podere Donna Nera Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-06-2019
Rosso di Montalcino continues to be an excellent value for Italian wines drinkers--especially when you consider the strength of the ‘15 and ‘16 vintages. Here, you’ll find soft tones of maraschino cherry and spice on the nose. On the palate this there is rich concentration, and prominent but pleasurable tannin. This punches way over its price and perfect for a weeknight dinner.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza - Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-06-2019
Rioja doesn’t get more legit than this. You can definitely feel the complexity from its maturation in bottle. The American oak on this is extremely well done, with lots of vanilla, cedar and allspice in the forefront with darker tones of blackfruit and savory meatiness lurking in the background. On the palate the wine is nicely softened, with even more savory tones punching through to a bright, crisp finish. Excellent concentration and great power.

2017 Susana Balbo "Brioso" Uco Valley White Blend
Review Date: 11-06-2019
This wine has one of them the most compelling and interesting aroma profiles I’ve come across in a long time. There is an aspect of candied grapefruit peel and toasted honey crisp apple, and I swear, a lemon shaved ice. If my descriptor are a little uncommon, its because the wine itself is exceptional. Linear, svelte, incredibly bright and intensely refreshing.This has everything I like about torrontes, and nothing I don’t. This is a delightful surprise in every way.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine du Haut Bourg "Origine" Muscadet Côtes de Grandlieu
Review Date: 11-06-2019
Yes, this is muscadet, but with the volume turned waaaaaay up. Incredibly aromatic, jasmine and white flowers along with creamier, weightier notes soar from the glass. Bigger and rounder on the palate with touches of mandarine orange, it still possess that biting acidity and beautiful minerality. The lees contact is obvious here, but incredibly well done. Substantive and forward, this is a must-try for fans of muscadet.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine Petroni Corse Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-06-2019
I absolutely adore this wine, year after year. Offbeat but still beautifully crisp and delicious, Corsican wines always have the ability to surprise and impress. Full of bright nectarine, honeycomb, and lemon zest, this particular vintage shows greater weight and texture than years past--and is all the better for it. This is a hall-of-fame under $15 white for me.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 11-04-2019
If you were to ask me what wine I am most excited about at K&L right now, it would be this. Hands down. Matt Connell is an incredibly talented winemaker who has dedicated his career to crafting transcendent Pinot Noir. Having honed his skills winemaking at Elk Cove in Oregon and Akarua in New Zealand, Matt struck out on his own under his eponymous label, which has been seeing big scores and is quickly gaining recognition as the next big thing in New Zealand Pinot. His 2018 Rendition Pinot Noir is a perfect example of what I love about his wines. Beautiful and crafted from 100% destemmed fruit, the nose is intensely perfumed and complex with Bing cherry, subtle spice and fresh cranberries, while the palate has incredibly softened tannins and bright, crackling acidity. What I really appreciate about this wine is that despite having all the necessary elements to age--this is drinking perfectly right now. If you want a head-turning, stunner of a Pinot Noir that will impress everyone at the table, this it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-28-2019
Helen’s Hill continues to be one of our best-value producers. What I love about them is the fact that even their under $20 wines have all the same care and attention to detail that you’d find in some finest wines out there. All the fruit is sourced from their Ingram Road Estate vineyard. Grapes are hand-harvested, and barrel fermented with 100% native yeast. The nose here is soft and supple elements of lemon curd and stone fruits. On the palate, the wine is full and rich with just a hint of soft spice. The acidity has drive all the way to the finish, creating a full bodied, but incredibly balanced chardonnay. This is an impeccably crafted wine that is an absolute steal. With Burgundian inspiration, but new world character, serve this at a party and everyone will be raving.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine des Rémizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 10-25-2019
One of the areas I focus on collecting is wines of the northern Rhone, and the Remizieres Crozes is a staple of my collection. The '17 is dark and brooding with an earthy profile displaying tar, smoke, and blue fruits. This is everything I like in a Crozes-Hermitage. Fully concentrated on the palate with and tannin that drips down the palate. Look elsewhere for Crozes that is plump and obvious, the 2017 Remizieres is proper Crozes-Hermitage from a perennially awesome producer.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Quartz Reef "Bendigo Single Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Rudi Bauer is one of the original five winemakers in Central Otago, and his Quartz Reef wines represent some of the best in New Zealand Pinot Noir. Entirely biodynamic, these wines have had a cult following among our customers for years, and I’m so excited by the 2017 in particular. When I talked to Rudi over the summer, he explained that it was a difficult vintage that gave them a ton of challenges, but ended with a small crop with incredible intensity. It shows in the glass. Dark fruited with elements of blackberry and black cherry, it is muscular and powerful. Its almost impossible not to draw comparisons to Cote-de-Nuits, but truly this is its own wine. Bright acidity along with a quiet tannin profile that gracefully rests along the palate, this is seamless pinot noir at its perfection.

2017 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 10-17-2019
Moulin de la Gardette is always my benchmark for Gigondas. And as for Gigondas itself, it’s a wine I’m drinking a lot more of these days. As prices in Chateauneuf creep higher and higher, I have found myself fleeing to Gigondas. The cepage is typically similar, but the aromatics, structure, and the fact that these are still humble, regional wines that deliver huge on quality are all a big draw for me. As for Gardette, their wines are simply the best of the pack. Black fruited with layers upon layers of blackberry coulis, iron, and depth like the bottom of a well. On the palate more charcoal and smoke intermix with fruit, well-set with structure. A big wine that shows off the excellence of Gigondas.

2016 Castello di Romitorio "Toro"
Review Date: 10-16-2019
The nose comes off a touch spicy, but with a beautiful level of depth. I found elements of Iron, spicebox, blackfruit. But whatI really admire about this wine is the structure. The tannin is softened, but hits every corner of the palate. This shows a tremendous amount of skill, and gives the fruit both presence and power. Really nice wine.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2016 Agostino Pavia Barbera d'Asti "La Marescialla"
Review Date: 10-16-2019
This is clearly a bigger, bolder style of barbera. Wow. Big and plush. Beautiful cherry liqueur-like fruit.To me, this is almost like Italy does Priorat--but with more acid and structure than I typically find from grenache. Its big, ripe, and round with this incredible purity of fruit that sits right on the center of the palate. Bigger, richer style pastas will kill with this. I would call this one hell of a statement wine. This is the wine that’s going to win your next dinner party.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fratelli Barale "Serraboella" Barbaresco
Review Date: 10-16-2019
Beautifully perfumed. Almost like dried orange peel and clove on the nose, just a nudge of wildness. It’s tough to express how beautiful the nose is on this wine is--its the sort of aromatic profile that has all these little details, but perfectly meld together. But this is Nebbiolo, and it is still heavily built with lots of power and a lot of structure. There are plenty of red fruits: punchy strawberry and bing cherry sing above a lower, earthier drive.

2014 Trinity Hill "The Gimblett" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay (Black Label)
Review Date: 10-13-2019
I continue to shout our the unbelievable quality of Gimblett Gravels Bordeaux blends from the hilltops. I have to. These wines show incredible quality for the price, and a distinctiveness, and refinement, that is unheard of at these price points. I could tell from the first sip that the 2014 Trinity Hills was going to be incredible. It shows all of that characteristic density that is so clearly related to Gimblett. The nose shows blackberry, chocolate, clove, and baking spices. The palate is rich and decadent, with black, black fruits, and piercing acidity that gives the wine balance and fineness. Plenty of tannin gives the wine structure, but it's remarkably accessible. Let’s be honest, at $25 this is an absolutely ridiculous wine. For anyone who is drinking modern-style Bordeaux or Napa Cabernet, you need to check out what’s happening in Hawke’s Bay.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de la Noblaie "Goutte de Rose" Chinon Rosé
Review Date: 10-02-2019
Soft and beautiful nose with strawberries and cherries over creme fraiche. On the palate there’s plenty of crisp, refreshing acidity, and resonating cherry tones. Airy and soft. I’m tempted to call the texture on this “fluffy.” Perfect for anyone looking to branch out from our perennial Provence rosés.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de la Noblaie "Le Temps des Cerises" Chinon
Review Date: 10-02-2019
The 2018 Domaine de la Noblaie manages to walk an absolute tightrope between Old World and modern styled Chinon. The nose on this is clean and full, with plenty of dark fruits and touches of bell pepper. On the palate, the fruit definitely delivers, but there are also more interesting elements deeper in the glass. There’s a wet slate component. There’s a touch of earth and forest floor. And just enough tannin and structure to give it some heft. This is a perfect dinner party wine. Interesting and fun, but well enough within the standard wheelhouse, so that everyone will be pleased.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Calera "Bien Nacido Vineyard - 40th Anniversary Edition" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-01-2019
Overheard in the staff tasting room: “This wine shouldn’t say Calera on it. This wine shouldn’t say Bien Nacido on it. But oh my god, is it incredible.” I have to second that. Calera isn’t one of those producers I associate with Bien Nacido, nor is Bien Nacido a vineyard I associate with Calera. But Good lord this one turned my head around backward. Soaring nose with tropical notes that range passion fruit, banana, from wet slate to rich, roasted honeycrisp apple. The acidity is really punchy, probably a touch more than you would expect, but absolutely perfect for my palate. Elements of nuttiness and earth on the finish. What a ridiculously awesome find this is.

2016 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 10-01-2019
For years we’ve been selling the wines of Monacesca as an alternative to Chardonnay. It’s a full bodied, broad shouldered white that checks many of the same boxes that customers are looking for. And if you’re into that---great. But honestly, having worked my way through four vintages of Monacesca at this point, I really think its so much more. It really deserves its place as one of the absolute best verdicchios in the store. Rich and creamy, with a viscous center, candied lemon and pineapple notes along with poached pears. It continues to amaze me how dense and rich this wine can be, but still has an acidity that brings levity and lightness. An absolutely wonderful wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2018 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 10-01-2019
The Limne by Tenuta Roveglia is one of my most beloved wines. Whenever there is a concert in the park in San Mateo, you’ll find me with this tucked away in my cooler. Ethereal and light, you’ll struggle to see the color on this, but the palate is melon, honey, and plenty of citrus drive. This wine is about both the balance and finesse. My classic go-to, grab-without-a-second-thought wine that will always perfectly compliment my evening.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sidewood Shiraz Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-11-2019
My first introduction to Sidewood came with their 2016 Pinot Noir, which is jaw-droppingly fantastic: light and ethereal, intensely aromatic with tons of acidity. My response was disbelief: "Wait. This is from South Australia!?" What’s so surprising about Sidewood is the effect of its unique, high-altitude, cool-climate site on the style and quality of their wines. Take for instance, their 2016 Shiraz. The nose has elements of cherry liqueur, charcoal, and savory elements with just a faint touch of mint. Fragrant, pretty, and elegant. When was the last time you heard anyone say that to describe a Shiraz? The palate has plenty of acidity, medium weight, beautiful fruit expression. There’s not an ounce of excessive weight on this--it's lifted and incredibly bright. There’s been a lot of press this year about “New Australian Wine,” i.e. Australian wines that are moving to a style that is more balanced, acid driven, and lower in alcohol. I can’t think of a better example of what’s going on in Australian wine right now than this. Open it up an hour ahead of time, and you'll be gladly rewarded.

2016 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 09-11-2019
I love the concept of identifying single vineyard sites within Priorat. It makes perfect sense to do this. When tasting the single-site wines of Black Slate together in a lineup, each has their own nuances, and characteristics that speak in a detailed way to the place in which it was grown. The Porrera has always been my favorite of the single vineyard sites. The nose is gamey and untamed. There’s a clear wild strawberry note to the aromas, along with deeper richer notes that you’d sooner spot in a glass of well aged port. On the palate, there is this big wave of soft fruit, sweetness, and bare traces of of tannic structure with plenty of acid to help bite through the rich palate. One of those remarkable Priorats that keeps you returning to your glass again and again.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Susana Balbo "Signature" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 09-11-2019
Incredibly elegant nose with black fruits, spice and sour plum. The palate on this is full and rich, soft and plush with just a hint of sweetness. Clean, powerful and velvety smooth this is a totally sexy glass of wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 J. Bouchon "Canto Sur" Red Blend Maule Valley
Review Date: 09-11-2019
Touches of green bell pepper on the nose, offset with brighter fruitier red cherry and strawberry elements on the palate. Good, crackling structure, and clear clean fruit expression, this is a heck of a lot of full-bodied red wine at its price. I would drink this in a heartbeat.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Viña Zorzal Garnacha Navarra
Review Date: 09-04-2019
Full disclosure: I’ve loved this wine for multiple vintages now. I bought a ton of this a few years ago while I was going through a cool climate syrah phase (still happening). This appeals to me for a lot of the same reasons that I love cool climate syrah. There’s a savoriness, there’s a black pepper note, there’s a rigid but accessible tanic profile, and plenty of acidity. So distinctive. So unique. This is a beautifully crafted, supremely aromatic wine with body and power. Malbec? Argentina? Who cares. This wine is killer and one that I regularly pull out of my cellar.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Bodega Chacra "Sin Azufre" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 09-04-2019
This is always the first red wine of the new vintage in the door, not only because it’s from the Southern Hemisphere, but because this wine is all about freshness and vitality. Floral and bright, this is raspberry and flowers all the way. Slightly savory undertones give it a wild quality, along with just a tug of tannic structure to even out all the fruit. A super unique pinot noir, but one that anyone will gladly appreciate, this is one of the benchmark natural wines in the store, and is a great place for anyone looking to explore these wines.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

2018 Aurore Dezat Sancerre
Review Date: 09-04-2019
The aromas on this wine are so intense. This is dripping with wet cobblestones. Texturally, the fruit is round and soft with an acid line that pierces right through the middle. Plenty of tart honey crisp apple and gentle lime notes with a touch of chalk towards the back palate. It ends with a clean finish, that slowly unfolds with echoes of the palate. This is classic Sancerre that definitely punches above the under $20 crowd.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Quivira "Alder Grove" Dry Creek Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 09-03-2019
I’ve made my opinions known in the past that with the exception of a few key producers, Napa Sauvignon Blanc is not really my thing. I think the quality and value in places like Sonoma and Santa Ynez trump Sauvignon Blanc from the Napa Valley nearly every time. Case and point: Quivira from Dry Creek. Explosively aromatic, there’s plenty of bright Meyer lemon, classic grassy notes, and it just hints at Bordeaux blanc character. Bright and citrusy on the palate, this is lean, zippy, and angular. Complex, there’s plenty to explore here--it keeps you coming back to the glass again and again.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Peake Ranch Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-03-2019
The nose on this is just beautiful. Soft, creamy tones. Touches of spice. The fruit on the palate is absolutely penetrating. Lemon curd and zest above touches of marzipan with a texture that is somehow weighted and serious, but lively acidity keeps it light on its feet.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 BOLD Wine Co. Monterey County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-03-2019
What a nose on this. Gorgeous notes of cranberry, cherry, and strawberry come raging out of the glass here, along with great fruity followup on the palate. Incredibly smooth, soft and supple while gushing with red fruit, this is a lot of great Pinot for the price.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2017 Xanadu "Exmoor Drive" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-23-2019
Named for the road that borders the vineyard and leads to the village of Margaret River, the Exmoor Drive sees less new oak than the estate Chardonnay (only 5%) yet still has a creamy texture and tons of pear, citrus, and melon, and a bright, crisp finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Xanadu "DJL" Sauvignon Blanc-Semillon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-23-2019
With a blend consisting of 63% Sauvignon Blanc, 35% Semillon, and 2% Muscadelle, you might expect the 2018 Xanadu “DJL” to have more of an Old World sensibility. But that notion is turned entirely on its head by its sheer vibrancy and brilliance. Clean, bright and focused, this white Bordeaux blend showcases passionfruit, flint, and lime, with stunning length of finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bilancia Chardonnay Hawke's Bay New Zealand
Review Date: 08-23-2019
Warren Gibson and Lorraine Leheny have developed this small label, Bilancia, as a side gig to Warren’s day job as winemaker at Trinity Hill in Hawke’s Bay. The 2015 Bilancia Chardonnay is sourced from vines planted at La Colline, Bilancia’s own vineyard that is terraced across the slopes of Roy’s Hill, above Gimblett Gravels. This Chardonnay does not undergo malolactic fermentation, and is racy, bright, and focused. With a mix of citrus and stone fruits, and lifted, airy texture, this wine is full of minerality and tension. This is an incredible display of New Zealand Chardonnay.

2017 Mount Edward Chardonnay Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 08-23-2019
Sourced entirely from Morrison Vineyard, located in the Lowburn subregion, the 2017 Mount Edward Chardonnay Bannockburn has nectarine and almond on the nose, and a palate that is light-bodied, with an invigorating texture. The tension, focus, and linear character of this wine perfectly displays Central Otago’s terroir.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 08-23-2019
If anyone understands the distinct regions of Marlborough, it’s Astrolabe winemaker Simon Waghorn, who has spent his career focusing on distinctive sub-climates. From nine vineyards, each presenting a unique expression of Sauvignon Blanc, his 2017 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough interweaves parcels from the Wairau, Awatere, and Kekerengu Coast seamlessly, creating a wine of balance and power.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Rosé Central Otago
Review Date: 08-23-2019
Hands down, this is my favorite rosé wine of the 2019 rosé season. 100% direct-pressed Pinot Noir from one of the best vineyards in Central Otago, this is bone dry, pale in color, and incredibly sophisticated. With its soft strawberry tones on the palate and beautiful floral aromas, this is light and delicate. It’s elegant rosé at its best. This is a must-try wine for anyone who loves rosé.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Yering Station Estate Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 08-23-2019
The Yarra Valley is Australia’s Burgundy, known for cool-climate Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. Yering Station was the first vineyard and winery there, and was originally planted in the 1850s. This Chardonnay is acid-driven, with bright citrus elements and flinty minerality. Weighted and rich, creamy, yet racy, this is a gorgeous Chardonnay that dramatically performs above its price.

Page: 1 2 next