Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Elsa Baez

Elsa Baez

Reviews

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-25-2019
Fresh, and crisp Chardonnay with citrus zest intermingling with ripe green apples finishing with great acidity and lemon zest on the finish. I would have a glass of this Chardonnay everyday!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-24-2019
Another great hit from the folks Helen's Hill. The nose is beautifully aromatic with ripe fruit, cherries and a very subtle hint of Earth. It's a bright, lean, fresh style of Pinot with notes of cherries, acid on the mid palate and crunchy fruit on the finish. Anyone looking for a great deal on fantastic quality of Pinot should invest in a few bottles.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Iteration #24 Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2019
For those who don't know, Laurent Perrier decided to add the iteration number on the bottles and this happens to be the 24th bottling of the Grand Siecle. Aromatics are soft and balanced with red fruit and a subtle leesy note finishing long with firm acid, bright fruit and a hint of brioche on the mid palate. It's not complex but it has a lot of character and worthy of a special occasion.

Laurent-Perrier Blanc de Blancs Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2019
This Brut Nature Blanc de Blanc is intended for an apertif, but I think it would pair so well with food (think sushi!) and it delivers! The beautiful aromatic nose with hints of candied almonds pairs so well with the balanced acid, minerality and salinity on the palate. It's the linear finish that really got me. From start to finish, each note represented the fresh, clean and elegant champagne Laurent Perrier is known for. We don't have much in stock so get yours before we run out!

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-14-2019
With 3 year aging on the lees and 1/3 reserves used to make this bottle, the Baron Fuente Grande Reserve is by far the great value champagne anyone will enjoy! On the nose there's good amount of lees-y and toasty notes and subtle bright pear undertones. Bright acid, ripe green apples mid-palate and mineral undertones finishes off this delicious bottle of bubbles. It is seriously a steal for a great quality of bubbles!

Le Gallais Cuvée du Manoir Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-18-2019
A new direct import we recently added to our line-up and I'm so excited for our customers to try them out! The profile is bright, vivacious, with great texture, fine beads, toasty aromas, and finishes elegantly. An easy Champagne to sip before or after dinner.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Old Vine Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 08-23-2019
The Old Vine Chenin is bursting with lemon zest intertwined with honeysuckle and ripe stone fruit. On the palate, it displays rich texture and powerful acidity, while still keeping a sense of elegance and complexity. This is in large part due to the fact it’s produced from older vines ranging from 35 to 40-plus years old, which naturally produce grapes at lower yields but with a higher concentration of flavors.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2008 Lanson "Gold Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2019
The 2008 Lanson Gold Label is a lean and complex style of champagne. Fresh and intense, this is a very elegant, pure and refined classic champagne with a beautiful mineral expression. It has refreshing citrus notes on the long finish. Another great '08 vintage to add to your collection.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2008 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2019
A great example of a 2008 champagne! Toasty and nutty aromas followed by bright green apples, almonds and focused acid. With all Grand Cru fruit, this Laurent Perrier bottling is not to miss at this price.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
Franck Bonville released three 2012 Grand Cru "Pur"series Blanc de Blancs based on where the vineyards are located in the Grand Cru village terroir of Le Mesnil. We were lucky to taste all three side by side and had the opportunity to distinguish how each are different based on the location. In the case of the Avize, the stone fruit aromas and bracing acidity really do balance each other out along with the texture on the finish. The more I read my notes, the more I realize all three should be tasted side by side and not to be missed!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-25-2019
The 2014 Leeuwin Art Series Cabernet is a complex and elegant wine.The nose is plush and aromatic -crushed raspberries, baking spices, hint of vanilla- while the palate offers layers of blackberry, cassis, hint of cranberries subtle tones of acid, balanced tannins and medium bodied. When you try it you'll find it hard to believe the quality of wine you get at this price. Grab a couple extra to cellar for future enjoyment!

2018 Villa Maria "Taylor's Pass" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-25-2019
This is not just another sauvignon blanc from New Zealand. I've had my fair share of tasting sauvignon blanc from NZ and have to say that the Villa Maria Taylor's Pass is a stand out. I get aromatics of stone fruit and white flowers with a hint of guava finishing with good balanced acid, grapefruit zest, salinity undertones, fresh and clean. This wine is bound to please any discerning palate!

2002 Billecart-Salmon "Le Clos Saint-Hilaire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2019
The one hectare of this particular parcel is enclosed with pinot noir grapes (the first to be planted on the vineyard) and a winemaking facility on site. It's quite impressive and this bottle shows how complex a single-vineyard cared for in a painstakingly manner shines through. Ripe fruit, honey and spice aromas, intense texture and notes of citrus acidity and minerality speak to the concentration of a single vineyard style of wine. It's a very different style of champagne I've tasted (and I've had many!) and am entranced with how different and delicious the 2002 Le Clos Saint Hilaire expresses itself. This bottling is not released every year and a must for any champagne collector.

2008 Billecart-Salmon Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2019
2008 is a great year in champagne and to have the Billecart Salmon Brut in this vintage is quite exciting! Toasty/brioche-y aromas, intense minerality coming through each sip and finishing elegant and refined. Billecart Salmon takes pride in their craftsmanship with each champagne they release and this 2008 vintage a fantastic example of their style. A must try for all champagne lovers!

2017 Ceres "Composition" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 07-01-2019
Another great Central Otago find thanks to our buyer! Savory strawberry, ripe raspberries, hint of black pepper on the nose (quite expressive if you ask me!) finishing off with cherry, soft tannins and spicy undertones really lift this Pinot. I typically don't drink red wine alone, however, this pinot is fantastic on its own and complex enough to pair with a roasted chicken. Don't let this one slip away!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 06-25-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I never knew a complex and flavor-packed sauvignon blanc existed until I tasted the 2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc! The aromas are -what I like to call a fresh bouquet of fruit (in this case stone fruits), white flowers and finishing dry, crisp with a tinge of savory notes and citrus acid. Super-balanced and refreshing, this wine certainly delivers so much for so little. You will not be disappointed!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2019
Le Brun is one of our best-selling top grower-producers at K&L and has become a staff and customer favorite. On the nose there’s this intermingling of both bright and sweet fruit - a tinge of pineapple- and creamyness. On the palate, bright acidity and green apples dance on your tongue. Rich texture, yet restrained with the acid backbone. I cannot express enough the fantastic value you get with this bottle. So good!

1995 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2019
This champagne certainly shows its age in a great way. The aging provided a richness with honeysuckle notes, nutty, and finishing with brightness and great acidity. It's not surprising how many layers this champagne shows because of the age, but what's surprising is how fresh it still is even after 24 years. This is the one to pair with food (cheese, pate or something savory) and definitely one to sit and think about with each sip.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2019
Our favorite champagne DI Fallet Dart never fails with each bottling I've tasted. This Grande Selection ages 7 years on the lees, which in turn produces the small bubbles. The beautiful aromatic notes with lees-y and toasty aromatics paired with a balanced acid backbone, notes of granny apples mid-palate and a lemon citrus zest on the finish, this champagne is a great value at this price!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-13-2019
100% Pinot Gris champagne? Yes it's a thing and yes it's really tasty! About 300 years ago, 50% of Champagne was planted with Pinot Gris (aka Fromenteau). It's not as popular in the modern times, however, we are lucky to gain one of the few producers who continue the tradition of using the grape in their champagne. Aromas of white flowers, tropical fruit along with citrus zest. The finish is long and dru with minerality notes, it makes this champagne great with your next sushi meal or alone with a cheese plate.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
A great vintage bottling from a phenomenal producer. On the nose there’s this wonderful delicate fruit bouquet and toasty aromas paired with bright acidity and great balance of depth and volume. All elements put together along with a great champagne vintage makes it a great value at this price!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I am so happy we carry Alexandre Le Brun's champagnes. He produces champagnes with laser focus and complexity with top quality fruit and the Cuvee Revelation does not disappoint! On the nose you’ll get a very balanced lees-y and red fruit note while on the palate both acid and bright fruit intermingle with a hint of smokyness throughout. This is a special bottle anyone will enjoy without breaking the bank.
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I cannot express how amazing this bottle of Grand Cru champagne for this price. There are aromas of white flowers, golden apples, a hint of toast and finishes fresh, refined, with a touch of acid which is just enough to compliment the subtle rich and mineral texture. It's created with 50% reserves, which is a good amount to have in a bottling and aged just under 3 years on the lees. With all of these elements put together, it is really a top notch "gateway" Grand Cru champagne!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
The first note I have on my tasting sheet is "delightful." This rose champagne has notes of strawberries and toast on the nose with lots of fruit - think raspberries, strawberries and a tinge of cherries - with a balanced acidity that gives this champagne layers of deliciousness. It's got so many layers without all the weight or richness. I opened a bottle for my birthday recently and couldn't have had a better bottle of bubbles to celebrate with!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2018 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 05-06-2019
A great example of a clean, crisp and refreshing white wine without overpowering the palate. The nose has aromas of tropical fruit and subtle hints of citrus zest while the palate is upfront with acid, hint of lime on the mid-palate and finishes with subtle notes of ripe tropical fruit. It's balanced in a way that all of these elements work so well together. At this price and flavor profile, it should certainly become a staple in your white wine selection this summer!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-03-2019
Krug has the reserve blending down and the 167th cuvee edition is no exception of their exemplary craftsmanship. The 167 edition is based on the 2011 vintage with blended reserves spanning through 1995. While the 2011 may not be known as an ideal champagne vintage, the folks at Krug created their magic once again with this edition. In my experience, Krug requires some time to sit and open in your glass or be laid down for some aging, but the 167 is ready to drink as soon as you pop the cork. Toasty, rich with tropical fruit, minerality, and a long finish that keeps on going. This champagne is so balanced and elegant, it's undeniably a Krug creation and one you should get your hands on before we sell out!

2017 Lambuena "Roble" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 04-16-2019
The flavor profile of this wine is full and rich, yet there is a restraint, in that it’s not so plush on the palate. The color is a very intense cherry red, and the wine shows floral, licorice, and ripe black fruit aromatics. With aging for only four months in new and semi-new American (70%) and French (30%) oak, the wine is sufficiently structured, complex, and fleshy. The toasty notes from the barrels come through beautifully integrated, too! I would easily pair this with a lamb or beef dish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pinna Fidelis Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I had the opportunity to taste our fresh arrival of the Pinna Fidelis wines with our beloved Spanish buyer Joe. The fruit is ripe but not too heavy on the palate paired with great minerality undertones. The tannins provide an interesting layer with notes of black fruit intermingling. It's full-bodied, well-balanced and bound to please any palate.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Los Autores "El Brujo" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Senor Ezequiel Garcia, known for his talents at Cvne, aka “El Brujo”, did his magic again with this blend of 82% Tempranillo, 8% Mazuelo, 8% Garnacha, 2% Viura. With aging in seasoned barrels (8-10 years old) along with top quality grapes, you get a well-structured and a truly traditional style of Rioja. As with the 1st bottling, the late El Brujo had a hand in this 2nd bottling and it truly speaks to the winemakers well-known wine. Aromatic, dark fruited with hints of leather , cedar, cranberries - the wine itself is a magical potion. I could easily pair this with a nice grilled steak.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2019
There is so much going on with this bottle of champagne it's hard to know where to start. The blend is from fruit aged between 2007-2014 and considered to be from some of the best grapes from the vineyards. The nose is powered with hazelnut and sourdough toast with floral notes intermingling in between. And it keeps going.. rich with a good amount of acid, green apples and an airy mousse-like texture. It's definitely on my top 10 of champagne I cannot live without!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 04-12-2019
What a treat to try this champagne! There are only 5,000 Clos Du Mont bottles produced and not released every year. This bottling is from 2004 and feel it highlights the climate very nicely - ripe fruit with deep concentration. My first impression of this champagne was the brioche and light fruit (think cranberries) on the nose while the finish was bright with a hint of savory, mineral undertones and nice clean finish. This bottle is for the serious champagne drinker wanting to explore a fantastic bottle.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1999 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Age does champagne really nicely and this 1999 vintage brings it! It's one I would consider to be a more serious champagne where you have to stop and think about what exactly is it about it that just makes it so fantastic. For me, there's a soft, ripe raspberries and strawberries on the nose while green apples and balanced acidity rounds out on the palate. It's an elegant style of champagne and truly remarkable for this price. Twenty years has given this champagne an opportunity to enhance the notes we all enjoy in our bubbles!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Coteaux de Peyriac Blanc
Review Date: 11-26-2018
A white blend mostly Vermentino (45%) in a French white wine (45% Viognier and 10% Roussanne making up the rest of the blend) would have anyone curious. The fruit is ripe and with cold-pressing and stainless steel aging, it balances so well with a backbone of balanced acid. It's medium-bodied, which to me can easily pair with food (poultry or hearty fish) or drink well on its own. If you're looking for a new everyday white wine!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-10-2018
When thinking about what to write about for this review I could not think of full sentences that would captivate on what exactly makes this champagne so special. Rather, when I think about the 2002 Piper Heidsieck Cuvee Rare champagne I think: beautiful, luxurious, unique, structured and by far one of the best vintage champagnes I've tried this year. With notes of toasted brioche, ripe fruit, a hint of almond and balanced with subtle minerality, a good balance of weight at the mid-palate and undertones of a very light effervescence, this is a must try for any champagne lover. Even better, you can hold onto this bottle for another 15 years or so. I can guarantee you won't be able to and will be inclined to buy another just to age. This is also a fantastic pick for that special occasion you've been wanting to splurge on and celebrate. When you taste the champagne you'll get the sense that every part of this champagne is meant to be together. Age + fantastic champagne vintage, let alone the fruit of 17 crus used to make this bottle, is going to blow you away.

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 11-25-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
By far the best Cava I have ever tasted! Mineral and green apple notes with a crisp and dry finish. A perfect bubbly option for any occasion, especially for upcoming holiday gatherings.So much greatness at a fantastic price. Stock up for the holidays!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart