Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Robert Cash

Robert Cash

Reviews

Emilio Hidalgo "Villapanés" Oloroso Jerez
Review Date: 11-22-2019
Being a relative newcomer to the world of Oloroso, I had the distinct pleasure to recently taste what many consider to be one of the premier examples of the style produced today. It has a nose, I would describe it as elegant, with hints of butter toffee, figs, almonds, and a hint of orange peel. Dry and full on the palate, with nuts, dates, and toffee evident. Very complex, with a very long finish. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2016 Yering Station Estate Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 11-19-2019
I was very pleasantly surprised by this delightful Chardonnay. The nose is focused and taught with notes of lemon curd, pineapple, and subtle tropical fruit. On the palate, the wine is round and creamy without being heavy-handed, with fresh acidity and a subtle smoke element that reminded me of a white Burgundy. Tremendous value. This drinks well above this price point.

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Putting my nose in the glass I immediately knew this was something special. Such lovely aromas of subtle spice, dark fruit, and hints of bakers chocolate. Very aromatic. Balanced and effortless on the palate, it is light in body yet at the same time deep in flavor and complexity. Very approachable. The finish here is very long and lingering. Exceptional Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Tamdhu 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-02-2019
I recently had the pleasure of tasting the 12-year offering from this iconic Speyside distillery. Tamdhu uses only the best Oloroso sherry oak casks from Spain to mature their whisky. The nose is rich and delightful with notes of raisins, caramel, hints of cinnamon, and stewed citrus. Smooth and balanced on the palate with hints of dried fruits. Absolutely delicious! The finish is long, and the only word that came to mind to describe it was "pretty." Natural color with no caramel coloring added. This is such a well-made Scotch.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2015 Marqués de Murrieta "Finca Ygay" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 09-25-2019
This was a joy to taste! The soft nose offers up aromas of leather, plum, dried red fruit, cigar box, and subtle, well-integrated oak. Medium-bodied on the palate, the wine is quite balanced with silky tannins and a long finish. Like liquid velvet! Definitely enjoyable now, but will certainly continue to age beautifully over the next several years. This is an eminently elegant wine from a legendary producer. Don't miss out!
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2015 du Vallier, Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-16-2019
Comprised of 60% Merlot, 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, this delicious little Bordeaux is drinking beautifully right now. On the nose, it reveals dark fruits, some cedar and a touch of earth. Tannins are well integrated and soft. I was pleasantly struck with how well balanced the wine is on the palate. Seamless. A delicious red with a very wallet-friendly price!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Chateau de la Maltroye Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2019
This is a gorgeous white Burgundy that delivers far more depth and quality than its Bourgogne Blanc appellation would suggest. Beautiful aromas of white flowers, lemon zest, and subtle wood greet you on the nose. On the palate, the wine is round and firm with a great balance of fruit and acidity. and a long dry finish. Absolutely delicious!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 06-26-2019
The nose is quite pretty, with melon, dried flowers, baked apple, tropical fruit as well as stone fruit. On the fuller side in body and nicely balanced on the palate. Round with refreshing acidity, this is the perfect accompaniment for seafood, light pasta dishes, salads and white meats.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Four Graces Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-18-2019
The nose has a wonderfully inviting mix of dark cherry, bramble, and earth. The palate follows up with subtle spices, raspberry notes, dark fruit, medium tannins and a good backbone of acidity. Very inviting and quite delicious. This keeps getting better the longer I have it open. Very well made!
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2017 Pine Ridge Napa Valley Chenin Blanc-Viognier
Review Date: 05-31-2019
I have enjoyed this delicious wine many times over the last several years and I still can't get over how good it is for the price. A wonderfully aromatic nose of citrus and tropical fruit greet you and the palate is medium with a perfect balance of acidity, minerality with a clean refreshing finish. Outstanding value for the price.
Top Value!
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart

2016 Ridge Vineyards "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-09-2019
Ridge has been one of my favorite California wineries for many years They produce wines of exceptional craftsmanship and elegance at all price points. I recently had the pleasure of tasting this 2016 Estate and was left thoroughly impressed. Very dark purple, almost opaque in the glass with a deep powerful nose of dark fruit, cigar box, cassis, and forest floor with a seamless wrapping of oak. Frankly, there are just a plethora of lovely aromas to be discovered. Truly wonderful. On the palate, it's rich, complex, layered and full without being overbearing or heavy handed. I tasted the flagship Ridge Monte Bello many years ago and the impression it left is still with me. The Estate ticks all the boxes that the Monte Bello did for me at a more affordable price point, and requiring less aging. Drink now and over the next few years with any grilled meats. To me, this is the epitome of great California Cabernet.

2017 Diatom "Katherine's" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-01-2019
This is an extraordinarily elegant, focused Chardonnay of grace and structure. The marine influence on the vineyards is subtly present on the nose as well as the palate. The nose offers up a plethora of citrus and tropical fruit aromas that seem endless. With no oak and no malo in the way, the quality of fruit and winemaking skill shines forth with minerality and a great acid structure. Medium bodied on the palate with a generous mouthfeel and long finish. This is a wine of tremendous quality!

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 04-24-2019
The nose of this wine is so attractive and inviting with aromas of stone fruit, quince, and tropical fruit. Rich and round on the palate with notes of citrus zest, baked apple, with a creamy mouthfeel and zesty acidity. Delicious by itself, this would also pair beautifully with an almond and vinaigrette salad.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Rippon "Rippon" Mature Vine Riesling Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-18-2019
Planted in schist laden soils, this hand-picked wine has a pleasingly expressive nose of lime/citrus and petrol. The palate follows with lime zest, flint, and lively acidity with a richly textured mouthfeel. it is dry and long on the finish. Quite age-worthy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Scattered Peaks Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-12-2019
A delicious Napa Valley Cab with an impeccable pedigree for under $30!?? Yes, please! The nose is full and rich with notes of leather, cigar box, anise, and dark fruits. On the palate, this is classic Napa Cab with cassis, pencil lead, forest floor, well-integrated oak, complimented by silky tannins. This should continue to develop and evolve for several more years. Simply outstanding at this price!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-11-2019
Hailing from my home state, the McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon is a fantastic smooth sipper. Made from a mashbill consisting of local corn (70%), red winter wheat (20%), and malted barley (10%) this is a solid effort rivaling what the best names in Kentucky are producing. I thought the nose was beautiful, with notes of vanilla, honey, and subtle spices. On the palate, it's round, soft, creamy with hints of caramel with a great mouthfeel and a long finish. I really enjoyed this neat, but you could certainly add a few drops of spring water if you choose. This is a must have for any whiskey aficionado.
Top Value!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wódka Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2019
Dollar for dollar, this is hands-down the best vodka we sell. Tasted neat, on the palate it is very clean, soft and smooth, with no burn. No fancy packaging, just a very high-quality spirit here. This should be a staple in everyone's bar. Absolutely ridiculous price/quality ratio.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2018 Radley & Finch Chenin Blanc Western Cape
Review Date: 03-23-2019
The Radley & Finch Chenin Blanc is a delicious value sipper from South Africa. It has a clean, crisp, fresh nose of yellow citrus and stone fruit. The palate is lively with crisp acidity, melon notes, lemon curd and a pleasing touch of minerality. It is a stunner of a value at this price!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2015 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 03-19-2019
The 2015 Castello Riserva greets you with a deep, bold and expressive nose of ripe dark fruits, raisin, plum and spice box. On the palate, there is a pleasing interplay of tannins, fruit, and acidity with savory notes that combine to make this an exceptionally food-friendly wine. This is a wine of great structure that while approachable now, will continue to age for years to come. I can't wait to see what this is like a few years down the road!

2016 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 03-09-2019
My first exposure to the Bastide Miraflors was last year with the 2015 vintage and I was floored at how so much wine could cost so little. I immediately stocked up and it became my house red. I tasted the 2016 vintage last night with Korean BBQ and I still say that this is one of the greatest wine values I have ever tasted. Ripe dark fruits, garrigue, spice, earth - they're all there, all in perfect balance With silky tannins as well. Absolutely delicious. Buy this by the case! It's that good!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Fratelli Barale "Le Rose" Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 02-27-2019
Pretty is the first word that came to mind upon nosing this Dolcetto D' Alba. It greets you with aromas of black cherry, violets, and almonds. The racy acidity along with the softer tannins combine to make this a super food-friendly wine. This would be a perfect accompaniment to salumi, braised meats or antipasti. Tremendous value.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sokol Blosser Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-22-2019
I've just recently begun to explore Chardonnays from the Dundee Hills AVA, and the 2016 Sokol Blosser Dundee Hills Chardonnay was a delightful introduction. The nose reminds me quite a bit of Meursault. The wine has wonderful aromas of orchard fruit. Medium to full body and round on the palate with a very elegant texture with citrus notes. Great elegance and balance. This is a terrific value!
Top Value!

2016 Limerick Lane "Estate" Russian River Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-21-2018
Wow, what a Zin! I'd characterize the 2016 Limerick Lane "Estate" Russian River Valley Zinfandel as a wine of power and opulence contained in an exceedingly elegant package. The nose offers notes of spice as well as red and black fruit and a hint of cigar box. The palate is opulent with a complex structure, chewy tannins with a long racy finish. The flagship wine of Limerick Lane. This is a phenomenal wine for the money!

2015 Seghesio "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-20-2018
I have been a big fan of the Seghesio family Zins for many years now. Their wines are elegant and sophisticated and the 2015 Old Vine Sonoma County Zinfandel continues the tradition. While the nebulous term "Old Vines" gets bandied about a lot these days, Seghesio sets a minimum age of 50 years for this wine with some vines being 70-100 years old! This is a drier, more mature style of Zin with a beautiful nose consisting of cassis, spice, cigar box, and red fruit. Rich fine tannins with a wonderful balance of acidity combine to make this an ideal wine to pair with steak or BBQ. Terrific Zinfandel expression! Great wine!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Upon nosing the 2008 "Grand Vintage" Brut from Le Brun de Neuville I was immediately captivated by beguiling aromas of brioche, green apple and lemon zest. It's dry, fresh and lively on the palate with a creamy and elegant mouthfeel. This is an absolutely GORGEOUS Champagne! The price to quality ratio is simply off the charts here. This is an amazing value from a stellar vintage!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart