Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Miles Philippe

Miles Philippe

Reviews

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
I couldn’t ask for anything more from this champagne…I always have a few bottles tucked away somewhere in my stash! On the nose it’s clean and elegant with a slight white-floral aspect; on the palate the fruits are pure, lean, and beautiful, with the classic chalky texture that you find in all of the best champagnes; on the finish, it’s like an old friend that leaves 45 minutes after the first “Good-bye!” is said.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
The golden apple fruit characteristics that drive this wine are so clean here! And because of that, everything else just falls into place to easily. On the nose, there’s a fun yeast quality as if you’re smelling a baguette. There’s a small but wonderful accent of almonds that follows the fruits through to the finish. This champagne also has a velvety viscosity to it, and along with that the chalky texture is presented as if on a soft cushion. Keep for the years to come, or drink it in a few months; either way, this is very enjoyable!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2018 Te Mata "Bullnose" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-16-2020
This is a fantastic expression of Syrah. Strong structure with elegant fruit; a really lovely combo to see what happens in the years to come. The fruits come across as dark red and black, with some purple fruited notes. There's a delightfully long finish that has the fruit elements as well as a soft touch of meatiness.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Thistledown "Cunning Plan" Shiraz Langhorne Creek
Review Date: 01-12-2020
This is one of those wines that you place on the table if you just want to enjoy something without any effort. Rich, full, and plush, this wine is exploding with fruits and berries of all kinds. To me, the fruits are more driven by black and blue berries with some purple fruits mixed in. The texture is velvety and lends itself to a rich and satisfying glass. The more amazing thing in my eyes is that even though this is a fat wine, it is far from flabby!
Price: Hidden View Price

Elijah Craig Barrel Proof "Batch B519" Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-09-2020
I tasted this side by side with the C919 batch, and I must admit that I'm surprised that I liked this one more at the end of the day. Without water, this comes across as rather harsh and sharp mistress, with a full "in your face" attitude. But with water...a refined lady of class and beauty; lively and ready to dance the night away. Dried oak shavings, cedar, and dried orange peel are the biggest notes for me, followed by some cinnamon, dried yellow flowers, and a touch of vanilla. Spices and a slight note of salinity reside in the finish. This is a more subtle and elegant bourbon than I normally see...a truly unique and wonderful expression that leaves me in a contemplative mood.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2017 Nor Wester by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-31-2019
If you want to know what the nose of a great Pinot Noir should be like, pick this up. The fruit is sweet and bright, but it's tempered with a really lovely dark earthiness...It's absolutely intoxicating. On the nose alone, this wine over-delivers! On the palate, it's a simple being; fresh red fruits laced with a bit of smokiness / brambliness. As a weekday wine, this is exactly what I want; a compelling nose that I can enjoy all evening long with the simplicity that should pair perfectly with many of my simple weekday meals.

2017 Thistle Ridge Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-09-2019
This is a very elegant little wine! Boasting a finesse found mostly in much pricier bottles, this bottle will charm and delight anyone who loves Pinot Noir. It is mostly driven by bright cherries and fresh red fruits, but it's enveloped by a lovely robe of floral qualities on the nose. On the palate, crunchy red fruits are lifted to the sky by the floral aspect while simultaneously being settled back down to the ground by a soft earthiness.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 11-14-2019
This Chardonnay exudes the elegance of Burgundy, has the tenseness of Chablis, yet combines all of that with the purity of gorgeous orchard fruits of the New World. The usage of oak is masterfully integrated, and on this note I do not invoke "Burgundy" in a New World Chardonnay review lightly; the oak presents itself like it would in a wine from Montrachet. The fruit elevates the structure of the acidity, terroir, and oak to a class all of its own.

2017 Oakridge "Henk Vineyard - Block 864" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 11-04-2019
A very pretty nose full of bright fruits, floral notes, and hints of earthy qualities gives way to a wonderfully juicy palate! Despite the concentration of fruits, this wine is lifted by a great presence of acidity that keeps everything laser focused. This wine can do it all; parties, dinners, hang-outs, you name it!

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-25-2019
Crunchy cranberry is the name of the game here! With bright and fresh red fruits, this is a wine best enjoyed with some food. Anything that you would use a tarter and lighter style of Pinot Noir for, this will be a slam dunk wine to use for that pairing!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-24-2019
A fun sipper for warm weather! Bright lemon and ripe orchard fruits cradled by a lovely touch of vanilla, backed by a great acidic structure that will leave you wanting more.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Old Vine Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 08-04-2019
This is classic Chenin Blanc done beautifully! My favorite aspect is how richly textured the whole experience of enjoying a glass of this is; soft like honey. Tying everything together is a beautiful lace of acidity. Chenin Blanc lovers, rejoice!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ceres "Composition" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 06-30-2019
A fascinating expression of Pinot Noir! It's got a savory nose that presents a little bit of black pepper and meat, with dark cherry as the main fruit. The palate retains that savory and dark aspect of the nose, but the acidic structure lifts everything up to an elegant presentation! On the finish, there's a slight black pepper note that lingers with the dark cherry. Pour this alongside some heartier meat and vegetable dishes, and it'll elevate the meal to the next level!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

1995 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-16-2019
Because of the incredibly long aging on the lies (22 years), this is much more vinous than your average champagne. And my god, this is a fabulous wine! I would want to pair this with something more robust like foie-gras, paté, or a mushroom based dish than with oysters or seafood because of the intense flavor this brings in the glass. The color is a marvelous gold tinged with copper and foreshadows a complex palate. But it doesn’t just foreshadow, it delivers! One could spend a long time trying to pick out particular notes from the large swath of flavors that explode on the palate. I was able to pick out notes of golden raisins, apricot, baked apple, and slightly toasted almonds. There’s also a lot of complexity to the texture! I would describe it as a honey-like viscosity with a slightly gripy chalk quality.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2019
Wonderful exotic fruit on the nose; pineapple and melon were the two main ones for me. Clean sweet citrus on the palate; meyer lemon and golden apples. Along with a really lovely supporting cast of honey and saline notes, this champagne does it all! Fruit forward and delicious, this wine will disappear very quickly from your glass.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
It doesn’t get easier and more simply delicious than this! This rosé is juicy, energetic, and a pleasure! There’s a really nice mélange of apple and strawberry notes, a very refreshing and pleasant line of acidity, and a very fine chalky texture to this. This is sure to enhance any get-together that you bring this to!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
There is definitely an authentic presence about this wine. The fruits are uncomplicated and delicious; I mostly got notes in the ripe pear category. And the yeast notes present here reminded me of classic Brioche that was freshly baked that morning. Overall, it was like being with a friend who presents themselves openly and honestly, without all the flippantry of someone seeking your attention.

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
The nose on this wine captivated me immediately! It was elegant and pretty, with peach and apricot based notes, and a very floral sweetness; as if from honey where the bees gathered a very light and fresh nectar. But the most surprising part of this wine was on the palate! I immediately imagined a beautiful gilded wooden frame that was empty, just waiting for a painting…My friends, this is a champagne for food, and it will enhance the right dishes, like a good frame will enhance a painting. It’s not for delicate and light foods such as sushi or oysters, but rather for more powerful dishes such as Ramen or slow cooked pork.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
If you’d like a study on what “toastiness” in Champagne tastes and smells like, look no further! As most of my colleagues have already pointed out, 7 years aged on the lies adds a lot of complex yeast characteristics that pair lovingly with the simple and pure fruits. This is mostly ripe and clean apple driven, but the yeast…it’s almost as if you toasted a slab of Brioche and let the edges burn a little bit.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
An all-star for the price! The main driving notes here are in the ‘pear’ category, with lovely apricot-like accents. Because of the 3 years of aging sur-lie, the yeast notes on the nose are reminiscent to Pain au Levain. Will do great poured on its own for a party, or served on the dinner table with just about any meal!

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This champagne speaks to me so profoundly...The balance of acidity and dosage is so perfectly played here! The wine has the lift of an extra brut with the weight of a brut. Every aspect of this wine fits together so wonderfully and elegantly that it leaves you wanting more with every sip! Bright and sweet citrus to start, ripe orchard fruits in the middle, and a touch of salinity to accompany the brioche lies notes. Simply incredible!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2018
The name does not lie; this is a Fascination! It’s a powerful, slightly saline beast that you can smell rather than see striding upon five legs across a landscape of orchards planted in chalk and seashells, perfuming and air with pleasantries and memories gone by... Poetics aside, this is a very unique and beautiful champagne. If you want something to ponder over, marvel at, and maybe write some poetry with, I cannot recommend this enough.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Ca de Medici "Remigio" Sorbara Lambrusco
Review Date: 10-17-2018
A very fragrant and pretty wine, this is sure to accompany me on many lunches in the future! Bursting at the seams with strawberries and overall bright red fruits, this unassuming wine will pair wonderfully with everything from salads to cheese. In spite of expectations, this comes across as very dry and not sweet at all. In a word: Fun!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

1993 Joël Taluau Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 09-13-2018
It’s very rare that you find a perfectly cellared Cabernet Franc from Bourgeuil, and even more rare for it to be anywhere near this old! But this has aged so beautifully. The savory, earthy, and bell peppery notes of Cabernet Franc are elegantly presented in this wine. And the fruit on this wine would fool you to believe that it’s not from 1993! They’re still fresh and full of life. As time passes by, the fruit joyously plays side by side with the earthy tones to create a harmonious melody long after the cork releases this young spirited wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart